Do you believe in young women?

- (1)

Ami, a member of the Youth Leadership Council, shares how you made a difference in her life. To invest in girls like Ami, make a donation today! The first $6,500 in donations between now and December 31 will be matched by a generous Y-WE supporter. Donate before the year ends to double your impact!

My name is Ami, and I’m 16. You probably haven’t met me, but I know who you are. You are someone who made a huge difference in my life. If it weren’t for you, I’d be one of those girls sitting alone in the top corner of the bleachers, trying not to get involved in anything. Today, I’m writing to ask you to invest in the next generation of leaders.

Before Y-WE, I thought about running for student council, but I decided not to. Y-WE created a safe community for me to step out of my comfort zone and try new things. I practiced leadership skills, and my mentors supported me whether I succeeded or failed. Girls, mentors, and staff all told me, “I believe in you! You’ve got the skills for it!”

The next year, I decided to run for student council, but my teacher told me I wasn’t eligible. I knew I could be a leader, and that my Y-WE community would back me up—succeed or fail—so I wouldn’t take “no” for an answer.

The day before the election, the school decided that I could run. I stayed up late to write my speech and make my posters. The next day, I gave my speech to the whole school. When they gathered us together to announce the senators, I’d won!

My mentors at Y-WE are strong women of color—women like me. They taught me not to listen when people say, “You can’t do that. You’re not the right person.”

I’m the only black girl on the flag team, the only black senator in my grade, and one of two African American class officers. At Y-WE, I feel like I fit in, and I know it’s okay to stand out.

Your donation to Y-WE gave me something incredibly special: a community that has my back and the confidence to step up as a leader.

Your gift gave me the skills I needed to stand up for myself. Will you join me to make sure all girls have these skills? Making a gift today will ensure that girls find their voice, find community, and create positive change in our world. Many more girls need our help to find the courage to be leaders.

Girls like my cousin, Agie. Agie’s starting middle school. She’s a wonderful singer and dancer, but she’s kind of shy too. She needs Y-WE to boost her self-esteem. She needs the confidence to step outside her comfort zone, get more involved, and step up as a leader.

Will you invest in Agie’s future, just like you invested in mine? 500 girls and women participate in leadership, writing, and arts programs at Y-WE each year. 90% need scholarships to participate.

Together, we can raise $12,000 to provide scholarships for girls like Agie and me. A generous donor will match the first $6500 in donations. We’re already halfway there! You can push us across the finish line.

We can transform our world from one in which girls of color hide in the back, into one where we stand in front, because we know we belong there and because we know you are behind us.

 

 

Leave a Reply

